Free Your Mind

The above clip is from the 1999 movie “The Matrix.” This is one of my favorite movies of all time. Many people do not know this, but the films original storyboard was based on a loose interpretation of the Gospel of Jesus Christ. I think this film has tons of spiritual implications, but we will only discuss one of them today.

Question:

Do you ever hope that there is more to this life?

I do, all the time! I hope that God exists; I hope that God’s plans are sovereign; I hope that God’s plans are good; I hope that my life has a distinct plan; etc. The list goes on.

I wonder a lot about the future- what it will look like, how I will look, etc. I believe that we learn from our pasts, but our futures shape our hearts. What I mean is this: we learn from our past. We learn what to do, what not to do, what we are good at, and what we are not good at. But the future is where our hope lies. We long to know what’s next, who will be there with us, and how long it will take to get there. I believe that it is in those longings, we become who we were meant to be. I believe that it is in those longings God reveals Himself.

Faith

In Hebrews chapters 10 and 11, the significance of faith is revealed to us. Chapter 11 verses 1-2 gives us the definition: “Faith is the confidence that what we hope for will actually happen; it gives us assurance about things we cannot see. Through their faith, the people of old earned a good reputation.” NLT

The author, then, continues by leaving us an extensive list of the OT patriarchs and the example of their faith.

Back to the clip

In the clip, Morpheus told Neo that he would have to free his mind in order to leap from one building to the next. As we saw from the clip, Neo didn’t make the jump, but fell to the street.

I can’t help but wonder if this concept is what the Bible is hinting at in its discussion of faith. The “people of old” apparently had great faith and because of that great faith they were able to accomplish some amazing tasks, such as: be taken into heaven without death, start a new nation, have a child when the womb is barren, lead hundreds of people out of the captivity of Egypt, split the Red Sea, and to destroy a city with only marching and horns.

As seen in Hebrews, faith grants God’s people the ability to accomplish amazing tasks.

But there’s a down side to it: No faith=no action. I believe that the author of Hebrews intentionally leaves out the countless stories of people who didn’t have faith for a reason- that reason being they don’t add too much to the grand story of the Bible. I mean, who wants to read about a bunch of people who did the average thing? Who wants to follow in the footsteps of the person who did only mediocre? I know I don’t!

The society we live in tells us that things can only be accomplished by measurable statistics or scientific norms. I can’t seem to give in so easily to this idea. I can’t do so, because my life has been filled with the opposite of the norm.

I have experienced countless moments of doubt on the behalf of others. I have been told time and time again that I “can’t do that.” But every time, God has made a way through. If statistics are always correct then I am the abnormality. If the statistics were correct in my life, I should be a lot farther down the social ladder than I am. To put it another way, my nurturing should have produced different.

I believe that this is because of faith. Faith is what drives my longings for the future. Faith is what gives me hope for the future. Faith is what gives my life purpose in the present. Faith is what gives me strength to carry on in the hard times. And, I am where I am here and now, because I have faith in someone who is not seen and that someOne has given me the strength to do the impossible.

But as you noticed from the clip, “no one makes the first jump.” My faith has been rocked on more than a couple of times. I’ve stepped out into the unknown with the hopes that God would provide and ended up at a dead-end; only to turn back around and go right back to where I didn’t want to go. Those moments have left me with questions, but not doubt.

Questions prevent us from doing stupid things, doubt cripples us from doing anything. I’ve acquired quite a few questions along the way, but so far I haven’t been crippled.

Final Thought

Faith is freeing your mind to the things unseen. Believing that the impossible is possible through means that are outside of yourself.

When you find that place of faith, you’ll be able to leap the largest gap, fight the strongest villain, and find the purest of loves.

Leave a Reply

